My first Pentecostal sermon: truth, wisdom, & knowledge in Samaria

Earlier this year, during Lent, I preached without a manuscript for the first time. My preparation process shifted to oral rehearsal after a lot of note-scribbling. This past weekend, after having a very rich but exhausting spirit-filled week, I preached for the first time without rehearsing in advance. I don’t want to say I didn’t prepare, because God gave me a lot of things to think and talk about that came out in my sermon, but the delivery was extemporaneous. I’m not sure whether this will happen every week, but it was a very interesting experience. Listen to the following link and tell me what you think. God bless!

Truth, wisdom, & knowledge in Samaria

One thought on “My first Pentecostal sermon: truth, wisdom, & knowledge in Samaria

  1. Loved hearing your voice, Morgan. The only time I preached without a manuscript was when I gave 5-8 minute homilies during Lenten Evensong services – and I loved doing that. But I didn’t preach often enough in morning worship to get into the rhythm of being extemporaneous/with notes. This sounds like what we used to do in the 80’s in a former church – dramatic re-enactments of scripture with commentary. Loved to have heard more…

Leave a Reply

